slug.com slug.com

1 2

LINK Music written to capture the ideas.

So this is certainly somewhat of a cheeky plug, but it's also something I'm sharing because I sincerely believe it belongs here.

I'm a musician who has been following the IDW for some time now, and I spend a great deal of time reflecting on the topics discussed by the various members. I'm also a creative type.

So part of my process in understanding all of this stuff is to put my feelings into sounds. It's a release and a space to explore. A few friends and I started a band a couple of years back and the culmination of that effort so far has been this EP that we recorded. This track that I have linked is from that EP, and is titled 'Managing Complexity' because the song is loosely about humans having accidentally built a world which we may have made too complex to handle in any long term way.

I think it was the episode Cells to Cities on the Sam Harris podcast which I first started to write this track. Noodling around on my guitar and listening intently.

They floated this idea that maybe it is the case that thing are ultimately out of our capacity to deal with because we are a product of nature that has never had this scale of problems to deal with. The amount of relevant information, the interconnectedness of issues, and the pervese incentives that undermine any meaningful hope of course correction.

To me, it seemed like a compelling and truely horrifying sentiment.

What makes it "Jordan Petersonly" grim (you might get this if you are a fan) is that the song was originally in drop D, so the sound of the song was light and actually a little optimistic. When we got into the studio, however, our producer advised us to to put the songs 5 semi-tones lower to drop A.

The result of this adjustment turns a sad but slightly optimistic song into a hopeless and lonely ode to our unfortunate predicament.